Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Student’s academic performance should be used as an indicator for teachers’ salaries. I fully disagree with this statement because it would place an unfair amount of pressure on teachers, which could lead to manipulation of grades or use of unorthodox teaching methods. Despite being a laudable idea as this would encourage instructors to put give extra effort and attention to their students, it is not sustainable.

Ina society where humans are motivated by money, it is easy to see how one could fall into the temptation of doing everything possible to make more money. Teachers are humans and as also motivated by money. So you can imagine the length they might go to ensure that they receive fat paychecks at the end of the month. For example, a teacher might manipulate student’s grade in other to ensure outstanding class performance. This would in turn give a distorted view of the student’s performance which might affect him/her in the future. Although critics might argue that examination is not the true test of knowledge. It gives a good estimate of children’s capabilities.

Another point to note is that everyone is not created equal; hence the brain capabilities of students vary from one individual to another. Some students learn very fast and would excel academically, while some might require special attention. In other words, the performance of different students is really not a measure of how great a teacher is. Basing salaries on student’s performance would put an unfair amount of pressure on the instructor and would indirectly suggest that the brain capability of a child is in the teacher’s hands.

Lastly, an indirect effect of this action could result in the use of unorthodox method to teach students and would remove focus from the main objective of teaching. The purpose of a teacher is to help students learn new things, once salaries are based on performance, the main objective would be redirected from learning new things to receiving fat paychecks at the end of the month. This could lead to unorthodox methods of teaching i.e instilling fear into the pupils and setting impossible demands on them.

Even though this is a laudable idea that would encourage teachers to work hard and pay more attention to students, it is not sustainable and would have negative impacts In the long run.