The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument claims that business owners should hire people who need less than six hours of sleep per night for their business to succeed. Stated in this way the argument fails to mention several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. The conclusion of the argument relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. Hence, the argument is unconvincing and has several flaws.

First the argument readily assumes that executives who need less than six hours of sleep perform better which in turn ensure the success of their firm. This is a weak and unsupported claim as the argument does not demonstrate any correlation between hours of sleep and prosperity of business. To illustrate this, it could be that the executives who need less than six hours of sleep have trouble sleeping at night or function better at early hours of the morning. This could imply that they may prefer afternoon naps. While it is possible that truly some executives do not need to sleep more than six hours to perform, the author should also avoid generalizing this statement. Perhaps if the argument had provided more in-depth study and evidence, then it would have been a lot more convincing.

Secondly the argument claims the average hours of sleep per night for advertising executives correlates with the success of their firm based on a bogus study done. 300 male and female mentian advertising executives is not representative enough to draw a conclusion. Perhaps for some reason Mentian executives do not like to sleep for more than 6 hours a day, it does not necessarily mean that it would be same for Chicago or Meryl Executives. The argument could have been much clearer if it was explicitly stated that random executives from all over the continent were chosen. This would have given us a more representative sample.

Lastly, the study does not have a control group. The author should have had a control group which consists of executives who sleep more than six hours per day then compare profitability with their counterparts who sleep less than six hours per day. This would have given us more insight as to whether hours of sleep influences profitability. Without this control group, one is left with the impression that the claim is more wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.