The increasingly rapid pace of life today causes more problems than it solves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The rapid pace of life today causes more problems than it solves. I fully agree with this statement because of the indirect impact it has on health, family and relationships. Although this rapid pace has its advantages which include, innovation and technology, it is still considered largely a demerit rather than a merit.

In today’s world where everything moves so fast, there is need for tasks to be achieved at the shortest possible time. This has brought about the advent of technology which has replaced basic human emotions. The internet has provided an easier way to contact and chat with loved ones without actually having to be there with parents paying more attention to smart phones and laptops than forming bonds with their children. These children then grow up and the concept of intimacy and love becomes foreign to them. The rapid pace of life and the need to move on with it has brought about alienation of emotions causing problems that could be passed from generation to generation.

Furthermore, the need to make money, work faster never really gives one the opportunity to appreciate simple pleasures of life or slow down. This can be disastrous to health and overall well being. There is no longer time to plant in the gardens and make healthy meals as takeout is the preferred option. The need to meet deadlines murders sleep. There is now little or no time to exercise or go for vacations all in the name of fat bonuses at the end of the year. Overall the effect of these actions may lead to a non healthy lifestyle which may pose some serious consequences in the near future.

Social gatherings and relationships may also be affected. It is recommended that the average human being takes time to do an activity or join a club i.e book club. Nowadays, no one has time to do any of these which can have a negative impact in the future. The bond formed with other people doing the same activities with you is different from the family bond and may prove useful if you are looking to socialize or network. It might actually be helpful because some of these people may have similar interest or experience to yours. It is very beneficial in the sense that one could learn from peer’s experience.

Even though I agree that the rapid pace of life brings about creativity and innovation in the sense that people get more inventive when they want things done faster, it still has direct or indirect effects on the most important things in a humans life which are love, health and relationships.