Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim states that young people should follow worthy goals as opposed to their dreams because many people's dreams are inherently selfish. When stated this way, i disagree completely with the author because dreams ignite passion, hard work and perseverance as to "worthy goals". However, i do have my reservations and understand the authors point of view.

In today's world where life moves very fast, it is important to have some sort of purpose or direction as one could easily get overwhelmed and lost.This sense of purpose does not come by the kind of lifestyle we live after all, depression is no respecter of wealth. Having passion for something ignites a sense of purpose and keeps us going even when things are not working as planned. For example, the owner of Alibaba, Jack ma was rejected from Harvard and told no a lot. But he knew what he wanted out of life. He held on this dream and today he is worth millions. Another example is Micheal Jordan. He has always wanted to play basketball. He is known for quoting "Basketball is my life, i eat, breathe and live basketball". For someone to make this sentence, it is clear that their is inbuilt passion which has resulted in him being regarded as one of the greatest basket ballers of our time.

When people follow passion, they have more sense of commitment and goal. I am a perfect example of this. When i graduated from Tertiary institution, i wanted to work in a nice office with a glass view. I eventually got a consultancy job with the Big Four. I hated this job. Despite the money and prestige, i did not enjoy my days and dreaded waking up in the morning and facing my colleagues. Eventually, i had the courage to quit the job. Today i am following my dream of being a professional photographer and even though it is not as lucrative as my previous job, i love my life more. I love waking up and knowing that am going to take some beautiful pictures. This is a classic example of following your passion as against worthy goals.

There are a lot of examples to which this claim does not apply. Take a lot at a doctor. He spends a lot of time and money in school to receive a degree. It pays off in the end but it takes only someone with passion to stay the course of long training hours and resource.

However, i do see the author's point of view. In our generation where everyone is looking for shortcut to success, passion is overrated. Everyone wants to get a good job after school, drive a posh car and have a picture perfect family. Rarely before you see one who would be patient enough to start from the scratch or do what he loves to do.I mean if you have a passion for Fashion, the path might be turbulent as everyone knows the fashion industry is cutthroat. A lot of hard work would need to be put in and this does not even guarantee your success. Furthermore, many people's dreams are selfish. Some people want to be leaders to gain power and not to serve. Like in my country where everyone wants to join politics to steal money and live the Fab life.

In conclusion, passion is very important. It serves as a navigator or compass to the future. It motivates when things go awry and if followed judiciously could be very rewarding. However, it is sometimes overrated as many people's dreams can be really selfish. I mean who does not want to be a footballer and earn millions of pounds a week.