Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

To all admitted students, government should offer free tuition to those who can’t afford it. I fully disagree with this statement because the implication of this would be a burden to taxpayers, divert funds which could be used for research and would give rise to inability to attract brilliant minds. Despite being a laudable idea for government to provide tuition for the less privileged in society, it still is not sustainable for the above mentioned reasons.

In a society where there is the need to continually improve the educational system of the tertiary institutions, it is of utmost importance that the government has the funds to so. In an institution where tuition fees are paid, these could go a long way in helping the government to improve the educational system and supplement taxpayer’s fees. If you take a lot at the best institutions in the world i.e Harvard, the tuition fees are always very expensive. Being a private school that is not dependent on government funding, tuition fees would go a long way in providing the best infrastructure and improving the system. If government should offer free education to all those who can’t afford it, it would be too much burden for the taxpayers.

Another point to note is that most times, people don’t value what they get for free but place value on what they work very hard for. If the government gives free tuition to all those who can’t afford it, some students won’t value this and tend to take it for granted i.e they could decide to fail courses and miss classes. However, where a student has worked very hard to afford tuition fees or to pay off a loan, he/she would feel the need to take his/her studies very seriously and ensure they make every penny count.

Lastly, to attract the best minds, money has to be spent. If an institution has enough money, they could afford to get attract the best minds from all over the world. For example, if he/she wants to attract a Nobel Prize winner, the institution would have to ensure that they have the best facilities and have enough monetary compensation. In another instance, if they want to attract funding from top agencies, they need to ensure they have the best minds that have the capacity to utilise and get this funding.

Even though it is a laudable idea for the government to provide tuition to those who can’t afford it, it is not sustainable in the long run. Instead the government should set up cheap loans where less privileged students can access funds to sponsor their education and pay back in the long run.