To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The argument claims that a change from music to news and talk format would increase the listener population. When stated in this way the argument fails to mention several key factors on the basis it could be evaluated. Although taking certain actions could increase listernership. The author fails to provide plausible justifications for these changes. Hence, the conclusion of the argument relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. This makes the argument unconvincing and boldly displays its flaws.

First the argument readily assumes that changing to a news and talk format would increase listener numbers since this form of radio is popular in the area. This is an unjustifiable assumption. For instance, the area where the news format is popular might be a more urban compared to the increasing retirement population the author speaks about, this could account to more interest being shown in this form of radio. This argument could be clearer if it is author made clearer the population age and group of the area he being compared to.

The argument claims that despite population growth, there has been a decline in listernship and this could be attributed to growth being as a result of increase in retirement population. This is again a weak and unsupported claim as the argument does not demostrate any correlation betweeen listenership and age group. Perhaps the decline could be as a result of people watching more tv or listening to podcasts as aganist radio stations. If the argument had provided evidence of their age group or type of listeners then the argument would have been a lot more convincing.

Finally, the author makes unjustifiable assumptions that a decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music, hence the proposal of a new form of radio. One wonders if this is enough reason to draw these conclusions. Perhaps, people are no longer are intrested in buying music from the local store when you can stream online. This assumption is unconvincing and one is left wiht the impression that the claim is more wishful thinking rather than substansive. As a result the conclusion has no legs to stand on.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above mentioned reasons and is therefore inconvincing. it could be considerably strengthend if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts such as quantifiable proof of previous listernship and reason why the news and talk format is more popular. In order to access the merits of a certain situation, it is essential to have full knowledge of all contributing factors.