Benton City residents have adopted healthier lifestyles. A recent survey of city residents shows that the eating habits of city residents conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. During those ten years, local sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol, have increased fourfold, while sales of sulia, a food rarely eaten by the healthiest residents, have declined dramatically. Because of these positive changes in the eating habits of Benton City residents, we predict that the obesity rate in the city will soon be well below the national average.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The argument claims that the obesity rate of Benton city residents would be below the national average because of their healthier lifestyle choices i.e consumption of Kiran. When stated this way the argument manipulates fact and conveys a distorted view of the situation. Of course it is not far fetched that healthy lifestyle could cause weight reduction, however the conclusion of this argument relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence, hence the argument is unconvincing and has several flaws.

First the argument readily assumes that positive changes in eating habits of Benton city residents would result in reduction in obesity rate. The author has made certain assumptions in predicting the future. For example, what if the positive changes were made by some of physical activity performed by these residents not necessarily eating habits. Besides how does not author know that all Benton city residents are eating healthy? Was a study conducted that directly relates these eating habits to reduction in obesity rates? what was the scope of study and was sample size used representative of the whole city? For the author to make some predictions, he should have compelling evidence upon which analytical predictions can be made. The argument could be clearer if the author had clearly stated upon how these predictions were made.

In addition to this, the author made a survey of city residents eating habits conforming to government nutritional recommendation. This is again a weak and unsupported claim as their is no quantifiable evidence to back this. Furthermore, i am wondering what could be the motivation behind this study, probably its campaign season and politicians want to show some progress they have made so far. To illustate this the author made a comparison to surveys done 10 years ago. One would wonder why since it is expected that the pool of residents used might be different. Perhaps the more consists more of a more enligtened generation who are typically more conscious of their health compared to 10 years ago. It is not all clear. Perhaps if the argument had provideed evidence that the group used are similar in some way and made some quantifiable analysis, then it would have been a lot more convincing.

Finally, the author makes a correlation about healthier lifestyles of Benton residents being associated with eating Kiran without some kind of explanation to back it up. He also quotes some scientific study about kiran reducing cholestrol. Another claim is that during the 10 year study sales of Kiran increased and Sulia reduces. What evidence does he have to back this. What if the increase in sales of Kiran was as a result of price reduction? The author did not have any evidence to support that the city residents strictly ate Kiran during the 10 year period.Additonally the reduction in sales of Sulia could be as a result of price increase or change in flavour not necessarily becuase it is the less healthier choice. One is left with the impression that the claim is more wishful thinking rather than substansive evidence. As a result the prediction has no legs to stand on.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above mentioned reasons and is therfore inconvincing, it could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts.