An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The argument claims that an engineered new breed of millet would be the solution to vitamin A deficiency among the people of Tagus. Stated in this way, it fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which this could be evaluated. The conclusion of the argument relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence.Hence the argument is unconvincing and has several flaws.

First the argument readily assumes that this new breed of millet is the cure for vitamin A deficiency based on no study. How did the international organisation come to this conclusion. This makes the above statement an unjustified claim. Clearly no study has been conducted and even though a study has been conducted, it was not stated in the passage. The argument would have been much clearer if it explicitly stated that proper study and research was done and shows the evidence that links this new breed of millet to improved vitamin A efficiency among the nation of Tagus.

Second the argument claims that since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people would readily adopt this new variety. This is again weak and unsupported claim as the argument does not have enough evidence to make this claim. For example, it is possible that the people of Tagus may not like this engineered breed of millet as it tastes different from what they are used to, or some people do not eat or even like millet. What happens to this category of people? One cannot conclude that people that fall in the category mentioned above would readily adopt the new variety. Perhaps if the argument had done a study using a control group to determine the above assumption, then the argument would have been a lot more convincing.

Finally, the author concludes that the government should do all they can to promote this new type of millet. This leads to ask the question, What is their motive? Is election year coming and the government needs materials for propaganda or is the international organisation seeking to improve profits? Without convincing answers to these questions, one is left with the impression that the claim is more wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above mentioned reasons and therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts and proper study was done to show a correlation between this millet type and vitamin A deficiency reduction.