The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument claims that reducing operating expenses and operating hours would lead to improvement of profits. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. The conclusion of the argument relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. Hence, the argument is weak and has several flaws.

First the argument readily assumes that operating expenses is the reason for declining profits. This statement is a stretch and not substantiated in any way. There could be other reasons why profits are declining i.e low sales. There is no model or survey that leads us to draw a logical conclusion. The argument would have be more clearer if quantifiable/ comparative analysis was made to enable us get a clearer picture as to if really operating expenses is the cause of declining profits.

Secondly, the argument further assumes that reducing operating hours would in turn reduce operating expenses which then increases profitability. This is again a weak and unsupported claim as the argument does not demonstrate any correlation between reduction in operating hours and increased profitability. Although the writer gave a weak example of downtown Marston store, he still did not verify if truly reduction in operating hours lead to increased profitability of the store. I do understand the writer’s point of view that reducing operating hours would perhaps translate to low wages and low expenses. However operating expenses are made of numerous captions not just salaries and wages. If the argument had provided evidence of how reduction in operating hours increased profitability in the Marston store or the huge effect of salaries/wages in the company’s operating expenses then the argument would have been a lot more convincing.

Finally, the author uses customer complaints as a baseline for introduction of these new policies. Is this a good baseline for implementing strategies? Is the sample size of customer’s representative enough? Perhaps there customers consist of the older generation who still uses DVD as opposed to the younger generation. Without convincing answers to these questions, one is left with the impression that the claim is more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts.