The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but the general well-being of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The greatness of a nation should be measured based on a selected few elite. If the acheivements of its rulers are the key factors on which this judgement is based, this would not be representative of the population. It would place less importance on the the social welfare of its people which could lead to poverty or depression. Notwithstanding, the biggest resource of a nation is its people. People bring about creativity and innovation which could in turn translate to a great nation.

It is important to note that indicators such as (Human development index, GDP and happiness indicator) are successful tools used to judge how well off a nation is as compared to its counterparts. Hence if this factors are not satisfiable, that country cannot be truly considered to be successful. To satisfy this index, the welfare of citizens has to be very good. For instance, the scandanavian countries have been known to have very good social welfare (i.e good healthcare, high minimum wage (e.t.c). This has translated to a high standard of living and strong economy. They are presently regarded as one of the most developed nations simply by using measuring the well-being of their people.

In contrast to this, looking at its African counterparts, this is not the case. Africa has been home to the some of the greatest minds in history. People like Wole Soyinka, Philip Emegwali (who developed the super computers). Albeit in some foreign universities, Africans have been top performers and some of its leaders have been great acheivers (i.e Nelson Mandela). This does not translate into African countries being great. On the contrary, many African countries have been poorly ranked compared to their counterparts in the western world. This is because for the masses, the welfare system is non-existent and this has brought about poverty in Africa. This has brought bout negative effects on the youths, who now engage in nefarious activities to make ends meet. The future does not look too good in this instance.

This is not always the case. Take America for example, despite not having a very great welfare system, a lot of brillant and great minds have emerged from their country. These men have single handly brough about a revolutionary change and life changing innovations which have made the USA a world power. Notwithstanding America in terms of human welfare does poorly as compared to its scandanavian neigbours but surpass them in greatness.

There are many reasons why acheivements of a nation should not be judged by the elite few. This is because a nation is made of a body of people and if these people have good welfare systems in place, then there is hope for the younger generation. These generations become the great leaders of tomorrow. A nation cannot be truly great if its people dont feel satisfied or happy with its leaders. No acheivement of a few can change this fact.

In conclusion, i agree with the author that greatness should be measured based on the well-being of the people as opposed to the acheivement of a select few.