The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument claims that monitoring employee’s internet use from their workstations would improve productivity. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. The conclusion of the argument relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. Hence, the argument is weak and has several flaws.

First, the argument readily assumes that employees who use internet from their workstations are not productive because it is spent on personal and recreational activities. This statement is a stretch and not substantiated in any way. For example, how does the author know that employees using the internet from their work stations are using it for personal use? It could be that they are using it to improve themselves which indirectly impacts productivity. Someone could be looking up how to resolve some work related issues or even maybe studying for some online courses that could improve their productivity. In other words, there is no substantial or quantifiable evidence that supports this assumption. The argument would have been much clearer if it explicitly gave examples or some quantifiable evidence that employees productivity increases with monitoring internet use from their workstations.

Secondly, the argument claims that by installing software to detect internet use, it would prevent employees from wasting time, improve profits and foster a better work ethic. This is again a weak and unsupported claim as the argument does not demonstrate any correlation between internet use and better work ethics. The argument predicts the future and hopes that the installation of this software would foster better work ethics. For example, it is possible that monitoring employee’s internet usage could leave them feeling paranoid that they are being watched. How does this foster work ethics? This could instead increase suspicion and could create an environment for the employee that is not conducive. Perhaps if the argument had provided evidence that the use of this software would give rise to the above predictions, then the argument would have been a lot more convincing.

Finally, the argument concludes that installing this software would improve profits. How do we know that the financial gain from installing the software would give rise to profits? For all we know, the software could be very expensive and could increase expenses which could reduce profits. Without convincing answers to this question or supporting evidence from other businesses where this strategy worked, one is left with the impression that the claim is more wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. It could be considerable strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts or some form of quantifiable evidence.