the following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

Most home in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating, ...

The author of the letter gave some investment suggestion to their clients. However, the author must answer the following questions to strengthen his claim.

The author maintains that the climate forecaster predicted that below-normal temperatures weather pattern will continue for several more years. However, we should ask: does this climate forecaster indeed has the qualified capability to predict the weather pattern. If this so-called climate forecaster is merely a bachelor of the college. Or he just had taken a climate course when he was a college student, then he called himself a forecaster. Then, we cannot trust him. Even if this climate forecaster has abundant knowledge of climate, we should also ask whether he had obtained the predict data by training from any wrong climate model? As far as we know that the climate is changing anytime anywhere. It is hard to believe that one forecaster can know how the climate will be in after years.

The author also contends that there are many new homes are being built in the region, because of the recent population growth. Nonetheless, we have to ask whether those new home are being built for the new residents? Maybe those new houses are being built to become a financial investment of the rich men not because of the population growth. Furthermore, population growth does not mean that the demand for heating oil will rise. Perhaps the population growth is contributed by the local residents, and those local residents already have a fireplace in their own house. Thus, they do not need to buy any new fireplace to heat oil.

Even if there is a high demand for heating oil, we still need to know whether Consolidated Industries can obtain a huge amount of profit from those consumers? If there are many corporations selling the same things that Consolidated Industries have, or even selling more practical products than Consolidated Industries, then Consolidated Industries may not get any advantage from the trend. Even though the Consolidated Industries have strong competitive edges than any other firm, we still need to ask whether those consumers know Consolidated Industries? Maybe other kinds of corporations already have a retail store in the region and already have a strong relationship with those local residents. But the Consolidated Industries is just a new-established industry, no one knows them. Thus, the local residents may prefer to buy other corporations products just because they know those corporations even though Consolidated corporation can render lots of discount or a bunch of benefits to their consumer.

To conclude, to make the claim more convincing, the author of the letter should address the above-mentioned question to strengthen his claim.