The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

“Most home in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions or the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author recommends to invest in Consolidated Industries to the client. To support this argument, the advisor claims that several more years with colder temperature than usual will continue and increased residents in the northeastern United States will require more resources. Although this argument may seem plausible at first, the assumptions lead readers to doubt the validity of the argument.

To begin with, the validity about expert opinion is open to doubt. The author uses personal opinions of several climate forecasters to bolster the argument without stating the professional information about the forecasters. To confirm their expertise and representativeness, further details such as their affiliations, educational background, and antecedents. Also, the number of climate forecasters who espoused this idea must be revealed to argue that this opinion is supported by the majority of the specialists.

Second, to be able to calculate the actual gain, the exact number of stated evidences has to be presented. The investor needs to corroborate that he or she will make more profit by investing on consolidated industries than by depositing money to a bank. The first important number to be mentioned is the number of years predicted to be colder than the average. In addition, the number of new homes built in the region has to be confirmed to determine the raise in needs of heating oil.

Finally, the main energy source for heating might change in several years. Many countries including the United States are trying to consume less oil to achieve sustainable development goals of the United Nations by 2030. Thus, more sustainable energy such as solar energy and biofuel energy could replace the heating oil in a foreseeable future.

In conclusion, to advocate the argument to invest in consolidated industries, the author needs to strengthen the validity of the evidences. The details of climate experts and predicted numbers presented have to be demonstrated. Moreover, the growth potential of heating oil industry in the future which might be a risk need to be compared.