Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Political leaders often confront difficult decisions to make. In most circumstances, the leader has two options: sticking to his own philosophy or listening to the public. It would be a lucky situation if these two accord. However, there is high possibility that the leader and the public would want different solutions.

One perspective stresses that accepting public opinion are more important than the leader's judgment. In this way, the conflicts could be easily moderated. Furthermore, the leader might gain some popularity. On the other hand, I believe that this method only works as a short-term solution that eventually can bring negative impacts to the country.

The leaders are chosen by national elections in democratic countries. Voting to a certain candidate means that the voters are willing to accept the decisions that elected candidate makes as the representative of a country. Thus, in current political system, it is much more logical to rely on the leader's principle. In addition, the public can often react too sensitively on an issue without considering the impact of certain move in a foreseeable future. In comparison, the leader can take advantage of the experts who are nominated as ministers who will give him or her the professional advice. By making an important decision based on experts' opinions, the probability of side effects occurring diminishes.

In conclusion, I am positive that the leader of one country should be stubborn rather than manipulated by the public. Because the leader is in a place where he or she can make more rational choices. In a longer perspective, I would say that rational choices are effective choices.