The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

“Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Pal City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The vice president of the company is stating in the memo that to maximize their benefits, hiring Buzzoff Pest Control Company for all their pest control services would be a better option than current situation with Fly-Away Pest Control Company. To support this argument, the author claims that while the damage in Pal City controlled by Fly-Away was worth over $20,000 in last month, the loss in Wintervale managed by Buzzoff was only $10,000. Although this argument may seem plausible at first, the assumptions lead readers to doubt the validity of the argument.

To begin with, the author overlooks other causes that can evoke pest damage rather than capability of the pest control company in charge. Since the cases compared happened in different warehouses in different cities, there could be multiple factors that caused the difference between the amount of loss. First, the weather in two cities could be different: temperature, humidity, wind, etc. Especially, humidity is a factor that affects a lot in pest control. Second, the amount of food stored in each warehouse could have been different. For example, if the warehouse in Wintervale only stored the food worth $10,000 while the warehouse in Pal City stored the food worth $30,000, it means that Fly-Away forestalled 33% of the damage while Buzzoff lost the whole food.

In addition, the type of food in the warehouse in Pal City might have rotted easier because it was fast-foods that the company stored in there. The ingredients in fast-foods may deteriorate faster because they are intended to ingest within a short amount of time. Therefore, without knowing the type of food that have been stored in the warehouse in Wintervale, we cannot claim that the damage in Pal City was significantly higher due to the incompetence of the pest control company.

Finally, the cost-benefit ratio of the two companies has to be provided to determine which company could be their best means of saving money. In the argument, only losses are stated while the benefit made from the lower cost of contract with Fly-Away Pest Control is not revealed. In this circumstance, if the payment to Fly-Away Pest Control is more than $10,000 lower than the payment to Buzzoff Pest Control, the contract with Fly-Away Pest Control economizes the company’s expenditure.

In conclusion, to bolster the author’s argument to alternate the pest control company, several details need corroborated further. The argument has to contain the current situation of each warehouse regarding the environments and food storage. Furthermore, the amount of money that the company paid to each pest control companies would have justified the argument better.