The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

“One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The owner argues that replacement of all the showerheads of every building in the Sunnyside Towers complex to water-economizing showerheads will drastically increase the profits. To support this argument, the author claims that the decreased cost of water will lead to significant increase in profit. Although this argument may seem plausible at first, several questions need to be answered beforehand to validate the statement.

To begin with, the author is supposing that significant amount of water use has been economized by the alteration of the showerheads in three buildings without any evidence. As mentioned in the letter, question on the actual difference of water usage before and after the replacement must be clarified first to evaluate the supposition. If the answer shows abated water usage, the author’s claim will be convincing. On the other hand, if the answer is that there was actually no difference due to the change or even increase of water usage, the claim loses its validity.

Second, even though the answer to the first question showed the decrease in water usage, cost of the alteration must be determined to examine the profit. The author assumes that there will be profit increase only with the decrease of consumption without calculating the cost spent. Considering significant amount of time, if reduction of consumption cost will be more than the cost spent to change the showerheads, the author’s claim will be persuasive. However, if the cost of renewal is higher that dropped consumption cost, it can be detrimental to the business.

Finally, the author presumes that a few complaints raised will not affect the profit, but this cannot be decided until the question is answered: how assertive were the complaints? Assuming that the nuance of complaints wasn’t harsh, we can think that the living situation of tenant won’t change due to this event. On the contrary, if the complaints have implied that this change might have affected their decision to move out from the complex, this event could abate the rent income.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is based on the aforementioned assumptions. Therefore, to bolster the argument, the author needs to respond to the following questions: are there actual changes in water consumption?, does the decreased amount of consumption exceeds the cost of replacement?, and how strong were the complaints?