All college and university students would benefit from spending at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain you reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In these days, some selected students take their opportunity to study abroad for more than one semester in several forms such as exchange students in many universities. But I think that all students need to take advantage of the chance to study abroad for more than one semester. Some people can argue that leaving their own university or college for more than a semester distracts the students from their academic activities. However, I believe that there are a number of values that we can learn from foreign experiences which are even more important than knowledge from textbooks.

First of all, by studying abroad, students can learn diversity which is one of the most important values in the 21st century. Diversity is the ability to comprehend the other people who are totally different from ourselves. Thus, diversity is a prerequisite in the era of globalization. Diversity can be more easily learnt while a student is studying in the university than she travelling. For instance, a student has high possibility to make local friends who can teach her local cultures in the university by joining a student club. Although some can argue that most of the students tend to hang out with the students from their home country, it is meaningful to be able to observe and experience the way of living in a foreign country.

Furthermore, a student can practice the language of the country he is visiting. Learning a foreign language can be helpful to both the student’s future career and the improvement of education quality of his home university. Speaking a foreign language fluently always becomes an advantage when a student looks for a job. In addition, it can enhance the quality of education of the university by the student delivering significant resources in foreign languages to their classmates. But what if they visit a country who speaks same language as their mother tongue? Still, they can read the books written in different perspective than their homeland, which will be meaningful.

In conclusion, I believe that an opportunity to study in a foreign country must be given to all students in college or university. Because this experience can bolster their ability to understand diversity and strengthen their foreign language skills, which are important values in globalized modern world.