The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

“During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president is stating in the memo that in order to abate the number of industrial accidents, the work shift of employees must be shorten by an hour. She is arguing that the reduction of work hours can let employees get enough sleep, which will lead to decreased frequency of accidents and productivity increase. Although the argument might seem plausible at first, the assumptions lead readers to doubt the validity of the argument.

To begin with, the author supposes that a smaller number of on-the job accidents in Panoply Industries plant is because of shorter work shifts. However, the reason of higher level of safety in Panoply Industries is not determined. Panoply Industries may use better equipment with safety alarms or they may have hired workers with higher experiences. The exact cause must be examined to validate this evidence.

Second, she assumes that decreased number of accidents will lead to productivity enhancement. No correlation between the number of accidents and productivity increase is shown in the memo. There are myriad of factors that affects the productivity of manufacturing: working speed, level of workers, and performance of machines. Thus, even though the frequency of accidents diminishes, the productivity may remain the same without the change in other factors. In a worst-case scenario, decreased amount of work time might even deteriorate productivity.

Finally, the vice president presumes that decreasing an hour of work shift can let the employees sleep enough. This presumption can become wrong under certain circumstances. First, an employee might already be having adequate amounts of sleep. In this case, another cause for the accidents should be handled. In addition, an employee might not be sleeping in their increased free time. They could take advantage of this time doing leisure sports, which might induce them more fatigue. Finally, one hour of sleep might not be enough for an employee to fully recover from their daywork.

In conclusion, to bolster the argument, the author needs to validate the aforementioned assumptions. First, the reason of Panoply Industries having less accidents has to be shown. Furthermore, the correlation between the number of accidents and work productivity needs to be specified. Finally, the employees’ activities during their lengthened repose have to be determined.