The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

“Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term ‘butter’ to refer to either butter or margarine.”

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The speaker is stating about the results of the replacement to margarine from butter in Happy Pancake House restaurants in southwestern United States. The argument stresses that this change didn’t impact their customers very much. To support this statement, the speaker cites the proportion of customers who raised complaints which is indicated as 2 percent. Although this argument may seem convincing at first, the assumptions lead readers to doubt the validity of the argument.

First, the validity of the evidences is open to doubt. There are two proofs provided in the argument: the percentage of customers complained, and the testimonies from the servers. However, the details of the surveys such as the characteristics of the respondents and the point of time are not illustrated. For example, for a better judgment, the characteristics such as their experiences at the restaurant beforehand need to be stated. In addition, the temporal point is important because if the customers already got used to food with margarine, there is a probability that they see less difference.

Second, the speaker assumes that the visitors who haven’t complained are happy about the alteration. We can see that the speaker is committing a fallacy of oversimplication. There can be several reasons about people not complaining; they might not have enough courage to show their dissatisfaction or they might find it as a trivial problem. Anyhow, we can’t hastily conclude that these 98 percent of customers are happy about taking margarine.

Finally, the speaker claims that the customers are incapable of discerning margarine from butter because they didn’t raise any complaints at the time when they are given margarine even though they asked for butter. But butter and margarine are hardly distinguishable by vision. At the point that they saw the slippery yellow product came to their table, there is a possibility that the customers thought it was the butter they commanded. Their reaction after tasting the margarine should be described to analyze their contentment.

In conclusion, this argument of the business manager is not well supported. The argument could be more persuasive if the speaker mentions the detailed explanations of the evidences and the reason why customers didn’t make any complaints.