The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville.

“All students should be required to take the driver’s education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving school in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The letter tries to justify the reason of establishment of mandatory driving program in Centerville High School. The author claims that this action is taken due to the increased amount of traffic accidents in the area by teenage drivers. Although this argument may seem plausible at first, the assumptions lead readers to doubt the validity of the argument.

First, the argument relies on unproven cause and effect relationship between the occurrence of accidents and lack of instruction. The author mentions that the accidents by teenage drivers raised in the past two years. By this statement, we can infer that there were no or less traffic accidents induced by teenagers even though there weren’t instructing program provided at the moment. Thus, the linkage between the accident and education is unclear.

Second, although the accidents happened in the area were involving teenagers, it doesn’t mean that the subjects are the students of Centerville High School. The drivers could be teenagers who have already graduated or the students from another high schools or other areas. Furthermore, even if there were few Centerville High School students involved in the accidents, the program doesn’t have to be mandatory to all students.

Finally, the author states that this program is the only solution to augmenting accidents, but none of the probable alternatives are compared in the letter. The effectiveness of other options such as traffic CCTVs to monitor the roads or frequency increase of police patrol also need to be compared to fully support the argument.

In conclusion, to better bolster the argument, more valid evidences have to be corroborated in the letter. The effect of education program on mitigating the number of accidents and the subjects of the accidents should be clarified. Also, adequate alternatives to attest the effectiveness of the program also need to be provided.