The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument makes several unstated assumptions and hence, is not well reasoned. While it may be true that Adams Realty is a superior real estate firm in comparison to Fitch Realty, the author's unsubstantiated argument utterly fails to weave a cogent case to prove it.

The author makes a crucial error in logic when it assumes that higher revenue translates into a higher profit margin. A firm could have lesser turnover and yet be more profitable. Say a firm with a million dollar in revenue and 25% profit margin is better off than a firm with double the revenue and 10% profit margin. Had the author also compared the profit margin of the two firms we could get a much clearer picture in terms of performance.

Also troubling is the argument's assumption that a lower count of employees or part-time employees indicates a firm's poor performance. Firms having lower headcount or part-timers may have lower employee cost. Also, a firm may hire highly experienced and credible workers as consultants or part-timers to reduce the cost. Had the argument factored in experience or expertise level of workers at both the firms, the argument would have been more cogent

Another unstated attribution the argument makes is that a higher average home sales indicate better performance. As discussed before, even a lower average sale could be more profitable. Additionally, the firm with the lower average sale may be focussed on areas where the average cost of a property is lower or there are fewer players to compete within the market. Thus, a higher average sale value could be a misleading indicator of performance.

One more area where the argument has fallacy is regarding the faster turn around time for selling property. Firstly, the comparison is made between two years with a gap of nine years and the real estate market conditions could be very different in two years. Secondly, the location of two flats could be in two different areas with very different supply and demand dynamics. Thirdly, the price of properties could have played a role is sale time. Hence, without these crucial data points, the author's argument cannot be substantiated.

To conclude, the author makes many unaddressed assumptions that seriously undermine its validity. Unless these underlying assumptions are addressed, the argument falls apart, the conclusion that Adams Realty is superior in comparison to Fitch Realty could be flawed.