Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument makes several unstated assumptions and hence, is not well reasoned. While it may be true that “Palean” basket was not uniquely Palean, this author's unsubstantiated argument utterly fails to weave a cogent case to prove it.

The author makes a crucial error in logic when it assumes that the two villages, Palea and Lithos. were always separated by the Brim river. Rivers are known to change course, sometimes by several miles. Hence, it is quite possible that at some point in history, the two villages were not separated by the Brim river. And the people of Lithos would have learnt the art from Paleans.

Also troubling is the author's argument is his assumption that people of Lithos could not have travelled to Palea and learned the art. Even if we assume that the two villages were always separated by the river, one must look for shreds of evidence of boats of Lithos in the village of Palea. Only then it can be concluded that people from either village did not travel to the other village using boats.

Another unstated assumption the argument makes is that the mere presence of basket at a place also proves that the skill to weave them was present there. These baskets could have been traded by Palean with other villages and Lithos could be one of them. In that case, the baskets could be present in other nearby prehistoric villages. A deeper enquiry is warranted to delineate the process of weaving these baskets. Such as, whether there a workshop or a commonplace where Paleans used to weave the basket. Or what were the ingredients of the basket and are they present in Palea in other forms.

To conclude, the author makes many unaddressed assumptions that seriously undermine its validity. Unless these underlying assumptions are addressed, the argument falls apart, the conclusion that Palean baskets are not unique to Palea could be flawed.