Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Art is the sensory manifestation of a culture and chronicles its evolution through the ages. The way history documents events, art captures the creative expressions and finer nuances of culture and civilisation. Whether it is music, paintings, architecture, pottery or poetry - art and craft provide a distinct identity to the culture they come from. The prompt raises the issue of government funding of the arts and highlights the two opposing viewpoints. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the view that suggests that government funding is essential for the proliferation of art in society for three reasons.

Firstly, art by its very nature requires significant investments in terms of time, effort and money before it becomes commercially viable. Music requires musical instruments and years of practice; handloom, pottery or tribal crafts require extensive training and the same is true for other art forms as well. Moreover, even when the expertise is acquired, various art forms need market linkages and promotion to become remunerative. This kind of investment can only be done institutionally through government support until the market forces evolve to make it sustainable.

Secondly, apart from creating a piece of art, recognising an art form too requires a certain level of expertise. A common man with no understanding of painting, cannot differentiate between a real and fake or even a good or bad painting. Hence, it is unlikely that common people would either take a keen interest in the preservation of art forms or even know how to go about it. Thus, in the absence of active financial support from the government, many such art forms may be lost permanently. For example, in India, government support to tribal arts is crucial to its continuity.

Thirdly, livelihoods of a lot of rural artisans are linked with such art forms. In the absence of government support, these skilled artisans would become an unemployed and unproductive component of the economy. This may foment wider malaise and angst amongst the artisans resulting in civil unrest. We have seen many such instances where the loss of livelihood has paved the way for anti-state armed movements in developing and underdeveloped countries.

Of course, one may argue that the government funding may threaten the integrity of art forms and hence, it should be best left at the mercy of markets. But history teaches us that markets are neither perfect nor patient. Pure commercial considerations would undermine the integrity much more than institutional support. Therefore, let us not throw the baby out with the bathwater.