Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

From a Clash of Civilizations and cultures, the global dialogue has moved to the fragility of civilisation and culture as a concept in of itself. And there is no denying the fact that culture and tradition are the backbone of a nation's identity and must be upheld at all times. The prompt suggests that governments must financially support major cities as they are the primary custodians of cultural traditions. Major cities, undoubtedly, are the driving force behind a nation's prosperity and development. Having said that, in my opinion, I mostly disagree with this suggestion for three reasons.

Firstly, I argue that major cities are not the sole custodians of a nation's cultural traditions. A nation's culture comprises of the ideas, customs, traditions, values, beliefs and social behaviour of people at large. And people do not live only in big cities - they are equally spread across smaller cities and the countryside. One may argue that major cities are representative of the population at large and hence the culture. But on the contrary, to accommodate the variation in the population, major cities are known to develop a neutral or cosmopolitan culture. For example, in a country like India, a major city like Mumbai hardly gives a flavour of the country's rich heritage and tradition. The reason lies in the commercial or economic role of the city, which becomes primary - pushing everything else to a secondary status.

Secondly, irrespective of a country's economic condition, the public expenditure budgets are always stretched between competing needs. Primary among them are education, healthcare and security. Thus, directing too much of Government attention or public resources towards preserving cultural traditions may not augur well for a nation's prosperity. One may suggest that maintaining a nation's culture is the primary duty of a Government. But, history through the ages teaches us that cultures are enriched through prosperity and not vice versa. Places like Egypt, Persia, India and China are a testimony of the fact that a vibrant culture thrives on prosperity brought through trade and commerce. Even today, in agrarian economies, it is commonplace to observe the major cultural festivals after crop harvest.

Thirdly, the cost of financial support would be much higher in major cities owing to a higher cost of maintaining infrastructure and organising people. Alternatively, such initiatives could be spread across smaller cities and countryside. This will not only reduce the burden on state exchequer but also provide an uncluttered space for the cultural showcase. Moreover, this will lead to economic prosperity and development of smaller places. For example, 'Taj Mahal' - a major tourist attraction, has immensely contributed to the development and prosperity of 'Agra' - the city which houses it.

Of course, one may argue that the essence of a society's culture can be found in its major cities. However, culture is much more than an aggregation of individuals. Culture is also about a society's relationship with its religion, animals, plants and other societies. And the view can be a welcome revelation outside the city boundaries. As a wise seer once said "To know your true self, just observe what you do when no one is watching"