The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument makes several unstated assumptions and hence, is not well reasoned. While it may be true that decrease in the Central Plaza’s business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza, the author's unsubstantiated argument utterly fails to weave a cogent case to prove it.

The author makes a crucial error in logic when it assumes that skateboarding enthusiasts are a subset of shoppers. There could be a possibility that the shoppers and skateboarding enthusiasts are a distinct community. In that case, the decline in shopping volume cannot be attributed to the increasing popularity of skateboarding. The shopping volumes may have declined due to other factors such as newer shopping complexes with better amenities and greater attraction.

Also troubling is the argument's assumption that shopping and skateboarding timings are the same. People may prefer a certain time slot for recreational activities such as skateboarding and a different one for shopping. Let us say that if the majority of skateboarding enthusiasts prefer a morning slot and shoppers visit the Plaza in the evening - It is unlikely that the skateboarding is eating into shopping volume. Had the author mentioned that both the activities happen during the same time and skateboarding enthusiasts are a subset of shoppers, the logic would have been stronger.

Another unstated attribution the argument makes is that the litter and vandalism are caused by skateboarding enthusiasts. There could be several other reasons responsible for it. Opening of food joints in the Plaza or vicinity; the opening of bars; deteriorating security infrastructure or police patrolling in and around the Plaza could well be responsible for the same. Had the author stated that both littering and vandalism are done by skateboarding enthusiasts, the logic would have been more cogent.

Finally, the author does not provide other important details such as the changes in security measures as well as the shopping experience at the mall. Also, changes in the locality, local consumer landscape as well as the opening of new shopping complexes in the vicinity. These data points would be an important indicator of business drivers.

To conclude, the author makes many unaddressed assumptions that seriously undermine its validity. Unless these underlying assumptions are addressed, the argument falls apart, the conclusion that skateboarding is hurting the business volume at Central Plaza could be flawed.