Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

A scandal panders to people's need for juicy gossip and rarely initiate a long and meaningful debate. It is just not a cliché. The implication of this expression can be found in numerous scandals of past and present. Road to meaningful reforms is paved with a long-drawn, pragmatic and inclusive debate rather than short-lived scandals. The prompt suggests that a scandal's ability to draw public attention is far more than that of a speaker or reformer and hence can be a useful instrument of positive change. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with this suggestion and argue that scandals, more often than not, distract attention from real issues at hand and foster unnecessary gossip among people for three reasons.

Firstly, the details of a scandal get maximum public attention rather than the issues underlying it. Media plays a big role in bringing irrelevant detail related to the scandal and in the process creates so much noise that the real issue is lost in the uproar. One may argue that scandals initiate a debate but then the debate loses focus and is rarely sustained. For example, the infamous scandal of a US president with an intern was overshadowed by the 'what' 'where' and 'how' of their relationship rather than the 'why' of it. The media was busy covering lurid details of the scandal rather than debating a suitable code of conduct and measures to enforce it.

Secondly, reforms or changes are usually brought through a long-drawn, step-wise and thought-through process of critical reasoning and wider debate. Scandals, on the other hand, create short-lived public attention and interest. Some say that scandals are a fast way of creating awareness but the 'theory of change' requires the right kind of awareness and not a faster one. For example, even a small policy decision follows a well-laid process of forming expert committees which publish working papers for public debate and incorporates inputs from various stakeholders before arriving at a decision.

Thirdly, a lot of changes or reforms do not require public opinion and sometimes the opinion of masses hinders a positive action. Some believe that public outrage in a scandal, truly represents public sentiment and acting on it is the holy grail of governance. But the logical fallacy lies in the assumption that public opinion and outrage is always correct and points in the right direction. For example, decisions on environmental issues, orthodox societal, cultural or religious norms may not be supported by masses. In other cases, certain issues are so complex that solutions supported by public sentiments might undermine its efficacy.

Finally, my argument is not against the ability of scandals to draw public attention - It is against the utility of this attention in bringing positive changes. When emotions run high, the human ability to reason goes wild. Even most pious of intentions, in a hurry, end up creating a new monster rather than killing an existing one. As someone has remarked well that "The road to hell is paved with good intentions"