To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

"Big cities are the Kaleidoscope of a society's character" - It is just not a cliché. The impression of its expression can be found in the numerous successful studies of a society's characteristics.

As the prompt suggests, major cities effectively mirror the dominant characteristics of a society. Acting both as a living panorama and historical record book, these cities serve as a treasure chest of information for those who seek it.

In my opinion, I mostly agree with this suggestion and argue that those who wish to study a society should economise their efforts through focussing on major cities rather than combing out hinterlands for three reasons.

To begin, the major cities act as an aggregator of various constituents of society drawn from different classes, creeds and races. Thus, to focus on a city is equivalent to studying a sample which is a good representative of the entire population.

Moreover, cities unlike hinterlands, have always served as important nodes of connection - within the society as well as with the world outside. World over, major cities have a rich history of trade and economic activities. These cities are custodians of not only a society's cultural and economic assimilation but also the resultant evolution in their beliefs and values.

Also, for society such as Indian society, the sheer size spread and diversity of societal fabric would make the task very difficult. There is a famous saying in India "The water changes every mile and the language every four-mile" In such cases, the cities serve as a microcosm of the society in its entirety - reflecting both the individual components as well as their interaction at large.

Of course, some argue that the essence of a society's character can be found in hinterlands thus to understand a society, we must understand its rural population. However, society is not represented by how an individual interacts within its own tribe but through the interaction of different tribes which forms the society. And ignoring this is like throwing the baby out with the bathwater.