Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Institutions of great learning thrive on a culture to learn freely and hence, the primary duty of an institution is to provide an open learning environment; facilitate different points of view and nurture different levels of understanding. The prompt suggests that educational institutions should proscribe students from pursuing fields which may not lead to success. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with this suggestion and argue that an individual should have the freedom to choose the field of one's pursuit for three reasons.

Firstly, learning is as much a function of passion and interest as it is of one's ability. While one's ability can increase, the same cannot be said about one's interest. Ability depends on a variety of factors such as resources, environment, exposure and facility and it may change as these variables change. A great poet in one language may not be equally expressive in another but then it is just a matter of learning the other language to produce a masterpiece. Thus, a prescribed better choice for someone, based on ability, could be misleading.

Secondly, there is no assessment criterion to establish the probability of one's success in a particular field. Success in a field is far more nuanced than any standardised test can capture. We are well aware of students who dropped out of educational institutions to create immense value in their field of interest. Some may argue that subject matter experts would be able to assess one's probability of success but it would be far more simplistic to assume so. Even the most advanced of such assessments have failed to measure the future probability of success based on current performance.

Thirdly, such a system would create an operational nightmare for educational institutions. These institutions have limited resources allocated towards a particular field and a reallocation of these resources as per the changing requirements could be an insurmountable hurdle. Those who argue that it would lead to optimisation of resources should consider the time and opportunity cost - both for the student and the institution.

Of course, a world where everyone could see the future and decide for today would be a perfect utopia. But we live in a world where chances, choices and changes guide our path to learning and success. Perhaps more than arriving at utopia, it is the journey that matters.