The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument makes several unstated assumptions and hence, is not well reasoned. While it may be true that firstborn humans produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations, this author's unsubstantiated argument utterly fails to weave a cogent case to prove it.

The author makes a crucial error in logic when it assumes that the research results of the study on monkeys also proves that it may be true for human beings. In the study on monkeys, firstborn monkey's cortisol levels were compared with its younger siblings. In the case of humans, the author does not compare the cortisol levels of firstborn with that of its younger siblings. Hence, without benchmarking with younger siblings, it cannot be concluded that the firstborn produces higher levels of cortisol.

Also troubling is the author's argument is his assumption that age has no role to play in the production of the hormone. The levels of cortisol produced in an offspring could be a function of age and maturity rather than being the firstborn. Had the author mentioned that the study recorded the cortisol levels of all the offsprings at the same age, the logic would have been more convincing. Therefore, unless age-wise study data is available, it cannot be concluded that the author's claim is logical

Another unstated assumption the argument makes is that the higher cortisol levels in first-time mother monkey translate into higher cortisol levels in firstborn. It could be since the female monkey body is experiencing the pregnancy for the first time compared to those who had several offsprings. Had the author stated that an offspring is born with similar hormonal levels as a mother, the logic would have been stronger. Thus, the argument that higher cortisol levels in first time females support the theory is faulty.

Finally, the author does not provide other important data points such as whether these monkeys were from different breeds or how closely their physiology is related to human. The phenomena may be restricted to a specific breed of monkeys. Also, the monkeys in the study could be way different in their physiology compared to humans and hence, an analogy can not be drawn between the experiment subjects and monkeys in general or human beings at large.

To conclude, the author makes many unaddressed assumptions that seriously undermine its validity. Unless these underlying assumptions are addressed, the argument falls apart, the conclusion that firstborn humans produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations could be flawed.