The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument makes several unstated assumptions and hence, is not well reasoned. While it may be true that reducing the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies during summer could decrease the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the author's unsubstantiated argument utterly fails to weave a cogent case to prove it.

The author makes a crucial error in logic when it assumes that the majority of mopeds plying on roads during summer are rented ones. Instead, being a popular mode of transport, the majority of mopeds could be owned by the residents and the overall contribution of mopeds through rental could be minuscule. Had the author provided the data on moped ownership, the logic could have been stronger. Thus moped companies own the majority share of mopeds is an unstated assumption.

Also troubling is the argument's assumption that moped accidents are solely driven by the number of mopeds on the road. Accidents can be a function of a lot many factors and singling one reason out with supporting statistics weakens the argument. For example, accidents could be driven by bad road conditions; adverse weather; lack of adherence to traffic rules or just poor public transport infrastructure. Had the argument taken into account the other factors, the logic would have been more cogent. Therefore, moped accidents can not be solely attributed to the number of mopeds on road.

One more area where the argument fails to impress is that it assumes the increase in population during summer leads to higher usage of mopeds. The moped usage could be popular with those who stay permanently rather than amongst those who arrive in summer. Maybe those who arrive in summer prefer public infrastructure. If the argument would have provided the data on the increase of moped usage along with an increase in population in summer the logic would hold more water.

Another unstated attribution the argument makes is that the neighbouring island of Seaville has the same conditions as Balmer Island. As discussed before, accidents could be driven by one, more or a combination of several factors. Equating two neighbouring islands is not logical unless other factors remain the same for both the islands. Seaville island could have favourable weather, good road condition, better traffic discipline, public transport infrastructure, a major share of moped usage through rental and so on. Unless all these conditions match, drawing an analogy may be logically incoherent.

To conclude, the author makes many unaddressed assumptions that seriously undermine its validity. Unless these underlying assumptions are addressed, the argument falls apart, the conclusion that reducing the number of mopeds rented during summer could decrease the number of accidents could be flawed.