The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In a letter to their friend, a homeowner recommends listing their home with the purportedly superior Adams Realty over Fitch Realty, if they wish to sell their home quickly and at a good price. To support their position the author presents several points of comparison between the two real estate agencies. The author states that Adams employs 40 real estate agents to Fitch’s 25, many of whom work only part-time. Furthermore, last year Adams’ revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch, this figure also included home sales that averaged significantly more compared to Fitch. The author claims that homes listed with Adams sell faster as well. The author offers an anecdote about listing with each agency: ten years ago, they listed with Fitch and it took more than four months to sell; last year the author listed with Adams and it sold after a month. The argument appears well reasoned when it is given a cursory reading, however, an in-depth analysis reveals several unsubstantiated assumptions that severely weaken the persuasiveness of the author’s position.

A major issue in the given argument is the unjustified assumption that the person for whom the recommendation is made will have a similar experience if they list their home with Adams Realty. In other words, there is no guarantee that their home will be sold as quickly or at a very good price. Several different factors may have influenced both author’s experiences with each agency. For example, the author clearly states that they listed their home with Fitch more than ten years ago and just listed with Adams the previous year. It is highly likely that the housing market has changed from then to now. Perhaps, during the time that the author listed their home with Fitch, the location of the home was an issue or maybe the home itself was ancient and had fallen into disrepair necessitating a lengthy renovation period. It would greatly behoove the author to consider the multitude of important factors that influence the value of a home before giving sole credit to the real estate agency.

Another flaw found within the author argues is the mistaken assumption that simply having more real estate agents makes an agency more superior over one that has less. The author fails to illustrate how Adams’ 40 real estate agents make them a better agency than Fitch’s’ 25 agents. While Adams’ Realty clearly has more agents there is no evidence presented that suggests they are superior because of this fact. If the author were to consider the quality of customer service provided by each agency, then the number of agents would be irrelevant. Perhaps, Fitch’s agents, while only working part-time, are more qualified, expertly trained, and highly experienced than Adams’ agents. Moreover, if the author were to consider evidence such as customer feedback, they might find that Fitch’s agents are friendly, helpful, and approachable and consistently garner glowing reviews. Therefore, the argument succumbs to the fallacious line of thinking that bigger is not always better.

Lastly, the author makes the assumption that revenue generated by Adam’s Realty is comparable to that made by Fitch. The author states that Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. This figure may not be all that impressive if the author were to consider the types of houses that each agency specializes in selling. Adams’ may only sell mansions or higher-end homes in the city whereas Fitch mainly sells ranch-style homes out in rural parts of the area. Therefore, the gap in the revenues would not be a reliable measure to determine one’s superiority over the other.

In sum, the inference drawn by the author is fallacious. While Adams may be superior the reasoning presented by the author does not hold up to scrutiny. To bolster the argument the author might consider the different factors influencing a home's value, assess customer feedback on both agencies, and/or the social reputation of each to determine the superiority of one agency over the other.