The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument presented above is from the business manager of a television station. The manager concludes that if they want to increase their viewership as well as stymie the loss of further advertising revenue, they need to expand coverage of weather and local news on all their news programs. The author reasons that in the past year viewers have complained about the station’s coverage of weather and local news. Furthermore, the author states that local businesses have canceled their contracts with them. Upon cursory reading, the author’s conclusion appears cogent, however, upon closer inspection, the argument is hampered by several unsubstantiated assumptions that dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the author’s conclusion.

First of all, a major flaw found in the argument above is that the author implies that the news stations viewership has declined, despite complaints received about the station’s coverage of weather and local news, because of the increased attention to national news. While the increased devotion to national news would likely affect coverage of local news, a concrete connection between the type of news covered and the current number of viewers is not effectively made. Though there have been complaints, we do not know if there have been numerous complaints from a wide range of people, or perhaps, from one or two individuals who have made numerous complaints. If the author can not accurately identify the reason, they are losing viewers the author’s conclusion is rendered invalid.

Secondly, another issue found within the author’s argument is that the author assumes that a significant portion of advertising revenue is attributable to their contracts with local businesses. It is not clear exactly how much revenue is generated by contracts with local businesses. Local businesses may have contributed to the overall advertising revenue of the station; however, the author fails to include important information concerning their advertising revenue. It is highly possible since the station decided to increase its coverage of national news, the news station has negotiated contracts with larger businesses. Furthermore, it is likely that the revenue generated by local businesses is marginal. If either of these scenarios proved true, the author would not need to devoted time and effort to salvage their contracts with local businesses.

Lastly, the author suggests that expanding coverage of weather and local news to all news programs will result in more viewers and avoid losing any more advertising revenue. If the news station’s flagging viewership and diminishing advertisement revenue result from problems with their choice of news coverage, the problem can be fixed with the solution posited by the author. However, if the decreased viewership is a result of inflammatory or disparaging views or comments perpetrated by their anchors of the news station, then the author’s conclusion would do little to solve the problem. Moreover, if the local businesses canceled their contracts with the news station, not as a result of the changes made to the news coverage, but because they started airing their advertisements during the daytime when people are at work. It is also possible that the news station increased the price local businesses must pay for their advertisements to be shown. If the notion to expand coverage of weather and local news to all programs does not consider the examples above, then the author’s conclusion would be rendered invalid.

In sum, the author’s conclusion to expand coverage of weather and local news to all programs might bring in more viewers as well as result in greater advertisement revenue. However, due to the argument’s reliance on several unwarranted assumptions the author’s argument does not stand up to critical scrutiny