The following appeared in a memo from the president of Bower Builders, a company that constructs new homes.

"A nationwide survey reveals that the two most-desired home features are a large family room and a large, well-appointed kitchen. A number of homes in our area built by our competitor Domus Construction have such features and have sold much faster and at significantly higher prices than the national average. To boost sales and profits, we should increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens in all the homes we build and should make state-of-the-art kitchens a standard feature. Moreover, our larger family rooms and kitchens can come at the expense of the dining room, since many of our recent buyers say they do not need a separate dining room for family meals."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

This memo from the president of a home construction company concludes that making two major design changes to all the homes they build will boost their sales and profits. The author states that a nationwide survey revealed two of the most desired features in a home: a large family room and a large well-appointed kitchen. Furthermore, the homes built by their competitor with such features have sold much faster and at a significantly higher price than the national average. The author also claims that the space for the larger family rooms and kitchen can come at the expense of the dining based on feedback from recent buyers. While this argument may appear well-reasoned at first glance, but an in-depth analysis reveals it is hampered by several unsubstantiated assumptions that must be addressed to fully determine the veracity of the author's claims.

First, a major flaw in the given argument is the unjustified assumption that the national survey cited is a valid and reliable measure. For example, the author fallaciously believes that what people say in surveys can be taken at face value, if the survey provided a $20 incentive for completing the survey the respondents could have only been interested in completing the survey to get the reward. This assumption motivates the authors to plan to modify their homes based on consumer responses. Moreover, the sample may not have been representative of the area in which the homes are built, the citizens of this area might list two totally different home features like a bigger backyard or better bathrooms. Unless the survey is fully representative, valid, and reliable it cannot be used to effectively back the author's argument.

Second, the author assumes that if their company starts building more of their homes with larger family rooms and more high-tech kitchens that their profits and sales will increase. However, the author fails to make a compelling case for why this decision might improve their profits and sales. For example, the opposite may come true, this modification may cost their business a fortune. Moreover, the author would be spending money on features that are not even in demand from buyers. If the author aims to improve their profits they should consider at least several different alternatives before settling on this decision.

Third, another error made in the given argument is that the author mistakenly assumes that Domus Construction’s success in home sales is because their homes were built with larger family rooms and state of the art kitchens. While it may be true that Domus also has these features in their homes it is foolish to believe this is the only reason behind their success. For example, Domus Construction may be more successful due to any number of reasons, they place an emphasis on an aesthetically pleasing home that caters to a high-end clientele. Therefore, it may not be the specific features of the home that have engendered Domus Construction’s success it may in fact have to do with the aesthetic of the home or the location they are built that determine their success.

In sum, the inference drawn by the author is fallacious, at least without addressing the assumptions laid out above. To bolster the argument the author might benefit from including important background information related to the specific home features most desired by their clientele. Moreover, it is necessary to identify a more cost-efficient