The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

This memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company predicts the total demand for electricity in their area will not only not increase but may even decline slightly therefore, there is no need to build any more electric plants because the three they have continues to supply them with all the energy they need. The arguer cites survey results that indicate that certain homeowners are increasingly eager to converse energy. Furthermore, the arguer states manufacturers have begun marketing a variety of energy-efficient home appliances improve upon those sold a decade ago. Additionally, newer technologies have reduced the energy required for home heating. While this argument appears convincing at first glance, given a more in-depth analysis the argument suffers from several unsubstantiated assumptions that dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the arguer’s claims.

First, a major flaw in the given argument is that the arguer erroneously assumes that the surveys are a valid and reliable measure. The author cites results taken from several surveys indicating that homeowners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. The author assumes that what people report on surveys can be taken at face value. It is highly likely that while people may say they are going to do one thing they most often do the exact opposite. So, even if one thousand people were polled in the surveys it is not guaranteed that will take measures to start conversing energy. Moreover, if the responses given in the survey are accurate and respondents went out and began buying and using these energy-efficient technologies and appliances, these results mean very little if they are not representative of the desires and motivations of the people living in the area the arguer mentions. Perhaps, the people living in this particular area have no interest in conserving energy or they don’t have the financial means to purchase these new appliances that could be very expensive. So, unless the survey is fully representative, valid, and reliable, it cannot be used to effectively back the author’s argument.

Second, another issue found in the given argument is that the arguer has unfairly assumed that the home appliances being advertised today save twice as much energy compared to those sold a decade ago. It is not clear, however, by how much these technologies saved today or those sold a decade ago. If it turned out that the appliances from a decade ago were already highly energy-efficient and helped save homeowners hundreds of dollars in electric bills, then there would not be a need to purchase these new appliances. Or conversely, if the older appliances reduced energy use by only a marginal amount and the new appliances saved twice that then this difference would not be all that impressive. If the difference between the amount of energy saved by these newer appliances is not all that different or better than the ones sold previously, then the author should provide alternative ways to reduce energy for homeowners.

Finally, the last error made in the given argument is that the author mistakenly assumes using these appliances and technologies will positively impact the total demand for electricity. Supposing that residents of the area do use energy-efficient products, it is not clear exactly how much electricity residents use in monthly or yearly. Perhaps, the area is a popular location for a series of music festivals and despite the concerted efforts of residents to conserve energy in their homes, electricity use continues to stay in high demand. Or maybe, the excess use of electricity is due to the poor habits of homeowners to leave the lights on or appliances or technologies in a near-constant use resulting in high energy consumption across a densely packed population of ten thousand. Therefore, if either of these two scenarios proved true, the arguer’s prediction would be unsupported and the decision not to build more power plants would be extremely foolish.

In sum, the conclusion drawn by the arguer is fallacious, at least without addressing the assumptions laid out above. To bolster the argument the author might benefit from gathering survey data from residents in the area to gauge their interest in conversing energy, research on the most efficient energy-saving appliances and technologies as well as assessing the current use of electricity of the current residents.