There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities. Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by individual workers than do businesses in the nearby large city of Masonton. Furthermore, Leeville has only one physician for its one thousand residents, but in Masonton the proportion of physicians to residents is five times as high. Finally, the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents. These findings suggest that people seeking longer and healthier lives should consider moving to small communities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the given argument infers that people seeking to live longer and healthier lives should consider moving to small communities. The author reasons from evidence indicating that the relaxed pace of small towns engenders more health benefits than does the hectic pace of life in big cities. The author states that the businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken. The author also claims that Leeville has only one physician for its one thousand residents, but in Masontown, the proportion of physicians to residents is five times higher. Furthermore, the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masontown residents. Because of the evidence mentioned above the author suggests people seeking longer and healthier lives should consider moving to small communities. At first glance the argument above may appear well reasoned, however upon closer examination, the argument is hampered by several unsubstantiated assumptions that dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the author's concludes.

The first flaw found in the given argument is that author makes the erroneous assumption that the pace of life in one’s location influences one’s health and longevity. While it may be true, that pace of life in one town may have some effect on the health and longevity of its citizens it is unreasonable to assume the small-town life offers any better advantages than living in the big city. For example, one’s diet can have a dramatic effect on one’s health and by extension their longevity, maybe the average diet of a citizen from Leeville consists primarily of highly processed foods and sugary confections. Or consider, the effect of regular exercise has on one’s health. Perhaps, the citizens of Leeville live a sedentary lifestyle, this in combination with an extremely unhealthy diet may promote the antithesis of a healthy and longer life. So, without considering the daily eating and exercise habits of its citizens the author cannot reasonably suggest that small-town life is better than big city life.

Another issue found in the given argument is that the author makes the fallacious assumption that the number of sick days people use is a reliable indicator of their health. Perhaps, the ethos of a small town conveys the notion that sick days must never be used unless it is a serious emergency therefore, even if citizens are presenting symptoms of some illness, their culture believes in persevering through the malady. So, it may be that the citizens of Leeville get sick just as much as people in the big city but simply refuse to call in sick due to their beliefs and work ethics. Moreover, it is possible that the businesses of Leeville do not offer many hours of sick time for their employees, consequently, the employees must be prudent with the few hours they are given. Therefore, without determining the reasons why the employees of Leeville take fewer sick days, the author’s position is severely undermined for the reasons mentioned above.

A further error found in the given argument is that the author makes the assumption that the number of physicians in each area is correlated with the health of their citizens. The author appears to imply that despite having only one physician for Leeville’s one thousand residents this attests to the benefits of small-town life. However, the number of physicians in each area is irrelevant if there are no patients. In other words, citizens of Leeville may be experiencing symptoms but may never receive treatment, meaning small-town life may not be any better than big city life. The author attempts to use this piece of evidence to support the benefits of small-town life but fails to prove exactly what the benefit of having a lower physician to patient ratio is.

In sum, the inference the author makes is fallacious for the reasons laid out above. To bolster the argument, the author might benefit from an in-depth study using more observable and measurable behaviors to determine what factors promote a healthier life. Additionally, it might be helpful to implement a survey asking Leeville residents why they do not use their sick time. Finally, the author would do well to find out whether the last premise helps to support their conclusion.