The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memo mentioned above, the owner of a chain of cheese stores recommends discontinuing the stocking of many of their varieties of imported cheese to instead focus primarily on domestic cheeses, therefore improving profits as well as reducing expenses by limiting their inventory. To support their recommendation the author states that last year all of the five best selling cheeses at their newest stores were domestic cheddar cheese from Wisconsin. The author also claims that a recent survey conducted by a popular cheese magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. While the author’s recommendation may have merit, to properly evaluate the argument, several pieces of evidence must be considered.

Firstly, the author states that in the past year, their newest stores found that the five best selling kinds of cheese were domestic cheddar. The author only provides information obtained from their newest stores. Therefore, several pieces of evidence are needed to evaluate the author's conclusion. The author’s argument is hampered by the lack of information about how well different cheeses sold at older stores. The author clearly states that their chain of stores holds franchises throughout the United States, so if certain evidence revealed that the best selling cheese at some of the companies' older stores were imported cheeses that sold twice as much this would severely weaken the author's conclusion. On the contrary, what might strengthen the argument is evidence showing that the company implemented a battery of unbiased surveys asking prospective customers which types of cheese they preferred and found an overwhelming majority preferred domestic cheeses. Hence, to cater to their customer's tastes, the newer stores' inventory is made up primarily of domestic cheeses.

Secondly, the argument cites recent survey data gathered from a magazine called Cheeses of the World that suggests a burgeoning preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. To effectively evaluate the argument, evidence concerning the subscriber's shopping habits is needed. It is important to know whether these same subscribers’ patron at this chain of cheese stores. It would greatly weaken the argument if these subscribers’ shop for their cheese someplace else because the survey results would not be representative of their customer base. Additionally, more evidence is needed to show that the survey can in fact be a reliable indicator of their subscribers’ preferences. That is, more detail is needed about the survey itself. For example, the survey results cannot be effectively used to back the author’s argument if the survey questions were consciously designed to more biased towards domestic cheeses over imported cheeses. The survey could have asked their subscribers whether they preferred domestic cheeses made in Wisconsin versus imported cheeses from India.

Lastly, the author states that by discontinuing their stock of imported cheeses they can limit their inventory stock thereby improving their profits in all their stores. However, the author fails to provide sufficient evidence that discontinuing their stock of imported cheeses would result in more profits. If it turned out that most of their profits came from the sale of their imported cheeses the author's plan would be eliminating a significant portion of their profits as well as alienating a large number of customers who appreciate the variety the store offers. Moreover, before discontinuing a potentially profitable product, the author might consider other ways to cut expenses. Perhaps, the store spends an exorbitant amount of money on expensive bottles of wine to complement their cheeses, but evidence shows that their wine sales have been steadily declining. So, without considering the evidence mentioned above the author’s conclusion would represent a foolish endeavor.

In sum, while the author's recommendation may have some merit, it is ultimately weakened by neglecting serious and thoughtful consideration of the evidence presented above. To bolster the argument the author would benefit from a comprehensive analysis of cheese sales from all their stores, not just the newest ones. Additionally, it would behoove the author to implement a normed survey from their customers from around the country to determine their preferences, as well as identifying other ways to cut back on expenses.