The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of human resources recommends implementing an electronic monitoring software to keep track of their employee’s internet use from their workstations, therefore preventing employees from wasting time, fostering a better work ethic, and improving overall profits. The vice president argues in an effort to reduce the misuse of company time, this software could be used to identify and punish employees. While the argument appears well reasoned at first glance, upon deeper analysis, several unsubstantiated assumptions are revealed, that dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the author's recommendation.

A major flaw in the given argument is the unjustified assumption that the installation of the monitoring software will achieve the predicted results. However, the vice president fails to provide sufficient evidence as to how monitoring their employee’s internet use engenders the predicted results. Before settling on this course of action, the author might benefit from exploring more empirical tested methods for increasing productivity and preventing the misuse of company time. Perhaps, a competing industry struggled with a similar issue and found success by blocking access to certain websites categorized as inappropriate or nonessential to their duties. Moreover, it is unclear exactly by what the author means by “punished”. Before this software is implemented consequences should be clearly defined. Therefore, it must be considered if there exist other methods that could be more effective to achieve the desired goals and one that may eschew punitive action on part of the company.

Another error made in the given argument is that the vice president has unfairly assumed that a significant number of employees are misusing company time. The author does not provide any relevant evidence that indicates that a high number of employees are misusing their internet access on their workstations. Perhaps, implementing the monitoring software reveals only one or two employees that have been spending work hours on personal or recreational activities. In the absence of detailed information regarding whether a significant number of employees are misusing company time, the author cannot convince the president of their company this represents a serious problem within their company. In view of the above, the recommendation provided by the vice president of HR seems extremely unreasonable.

The author makes the assumption that the misuse of internet access is negatively affecting employee productivity. This assumption underlies the author's claim that productivity needs improvement. Maybe, employee productivity is at an adequate or above-average level and employees spend their time on personal or recreational activities after they have finished their days' work. While it may be true that employee productivity needs improvement, the author fails to make a connection between this and their internet use. Perhaps, employee productivity is down because they feel they are not being paid well enough, therefore not feeling motivated to do the work required of them. If either of these scenarios proved true, the vice president’s recommendation would fail to address the real issue facing their employee’s productivity levels.

In sum, the recommendation outlined by the vice president is fallacious, at least without additional evidence to support it. The arguer needs to bolster the argument with information related to how exactly this software would help to improve worker productivity, evidence showing that computer misuse represents a serious problem, and the relationship between internet use and levels of productivity.