Several years ago, Groveton College adopted an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. The honor code has proven far more successful: in the first year it was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Such evidence suggests that all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's. This change is sure to result in a dramatic decline in cheating among college students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument given above recommends that all colleges and universities adopt an honor code system like Groveton College if they wish to see a dramatic decline in cheating among college students. The author states that ever since Groveton College abandoned their old system in favor of an honor code, they have witnessed a gradual decline over the years in cases of cheating among their students. Moreover, a survey indicates that most Groveton students state they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without one. While this recommendation and the evidence it is based on appear reasonable, three questions must be answered to properly evaluate whether the recommendation will have the predicted result.

First of all, are Groveton students similar to students at all colleges and universities? In other words, can circumstances and characteristics from Groveton be used to make generalizations and predictions about all other colleges and universities? It is highly possible that students who attend Groveton College are not similar at all to students at other colleges and universities. Furthermore, there is a likely possibility that other colleges and universities have a more successful method for deterring cheating. Perhaps, most colleges and universities employ a system in which students are highly penalized if caught cheating; whole letter grades are immediately deducted from the specific assignment or exam. It is also a likely possibility that Groveton students are much different than students from all other colleges and universities. Maybe, many of Groveton College students are on scholarships from the college that pay for a significant portion of their tuition as well as room and board and if they are caught cheating a certain number of times their scholarship can be revoked. If any of these scenarios have merit, then the recommendation proposed and the argument upon which it is based is severely weakened.

Secondly, is the survey a reliable and valid measure of Groveton college students’ views? The survey itself as well as the results are highly suspect because of the lack of information provided. For instance, simply because most of the Groveton students said they would be less likely to cheat does not mean we can take their words at face value. Perhaps, many of the students lied in the survey to conceal that they have developed a better system for cheating one in which students cover for one another to get better grades. Moreover, the survey could have asked students whether they would want to have the honor system or cameras installed in each classroom. The survey could have been designed in a biased towards the honor code, lacking several different alternative systems to choose from. Unless the survey is fully valid, reliable, and objective, then the survey cannot be used to effectively back the author’s argument.

Finally, what if the adoption of the honor code is not responsible for the gradual decline in the cases of cheating at Groveton College? The author states that at least several years have passed since the implementation of the honor code, it is reasonable to assume that the students who attended the college when they had the previous system have either dropped out or graduated. Therefore, it is highly likely that the students are different, more diligent, and earnest in their academic endeavors. Additionally, the buildings at the college may have undergone drastic renovations throughout the years in which classrooms have become bigger allowing for desks to be more spaced out from one another. If the students or the buildings have undergone the changes above, then the honor system cannot be given the credit for the fewer cases of cheating.

In sum, while the author’s recommendation has some merit, it is seriously hampered by its reliance on several unsubstantiated assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to include the honor code system in all colleges and universities.