In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading preferences.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Researchers from the University of Waymarsh conducted studies examining the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens. The arguer states that in the first study respondents said they preferred literary classics as reading materials, however, the results from the second study, conducted by the same researchers, invalidates the first study. The arguer reasons using evidence indicating that the type of book most frequently checked out of each public library in Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, the first study had misrepresented their reading preferences. While the arguer’s conclusions may appear convincing at first glance, upon deeper examination the argument is hampered by several unaddressed assumptions that dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the arguer’s conclusion.

Firstly, the first flaw found in the given argument is that the arguer erroneously assumes both studies are roughly comparable. For example, the first study appeared to entail a poll in which respondents stated their preferred reading material while the second examined the frequency in which certain book types were checked out. It is highly likely that the discrepancy between the two studies can be attributed to the two very distinct methodologies used to collect their data. Moreover, the author fails to mention exactly what questions the respondents were given in the first survey. Perhaps, the first survey only asked the participants if whether they preferred classic literature or magazines as their preferred reading material. The author might benefit if they were to conduct a uniform study using identical methodologies as well as including more information about the survey questions. As now it stands the author’s conclusion is indefensible.

Secondly, building off the previous assumption is the assumed correlation drawn between one’s reading preferences and the type of book checked out of the library. Just because the mystery novel was found to be the most frequently checked out book at the public libraries does not necessarily indicate a love for mystery novels. For example, middle school students may have been assigned a mystery novel for their summer reading assignments, and begrudgingly checked these books out at their local libraries. For this reason, it would be unreasonable for the author to assume a correlation between these two things.

Thirdly, another error identified in the given argument is that the author unfairly assumes that the citizens polled in the first survey are the same citizens checking out the mystery novels from the libraries. For example, the arguer’s own vague terminology identifies both survey’s sample groups as “citizens of Waymarsh”. If it turned out that the citizens checking out the mystery novels were not the same citizens polled in the first survey the author’s conclusion would be unequivocally refuted.

In sum, the conclusion drawn by the author is fallacious, for the reasons mentioned above. To bolster the argument the author might benefit from implementing surveys asking a broad range of citizens from a variety of different backgrounds and age groups what their preferred reading materials are.