The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the letter the homeowner advices to his or her friend to use Adams Realty rather than Fitch Realty, because in his opinion, this is a more reliable firm for those who are planning to sell their houses faster. The holder provides logical, on the first glance, arguments to use this agency. However, investing the provided assumptions closely, one can find drastic controversies in the owner’s logic.

As the paramount reason to rely on Adams Reality the householder mentions the fact about the number of agents working for both firms: 40 over 25. Following this way, this person assumes that the more people work at the firm, the faster it sells a house. This assumption is lack of logic, because there is no correlation between these two characteristics of firms. Thus, Fitch Realty having only 25 agents in its staff can overbeats Adams’ in terms of the number of sales, because these workers are more productive, hard-working and hunger for work.

The other aspect which can be doubt is the average revenue. The lower number does not show that Fitch firm sold fewer houses, maybe they could sell more houses which cost cheaper. For example, Adams Reality sold only 2 houses, and the average was $168,000, but Fitch firm was more succeeded by selling 10 houses. Moreover, since Adams’ has more agents, this firm can require more money for their business.

There is one more point to look closely is the fact that the householder used both firms to sell houses. The author mentions that he used Fitch to sell his own house 10 years ago, and it took 4 months to sell, on the other hand, lately Adams firms has done it faster, when he decided to sell another house. This point is irrelevant, because 10 years ago there might have been fewer people wishing to buy a new house, maybe the first house was situated in a worse location than the other.

Thus, the advice of the householder is not based on any logical arguments, because all they are lack of specific information, and compare different situations at different time periods.