The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument stated in the passage is about the two leading real estate firms in the town of the author and author shows how one is superior to the other firm and tries to convince his friend that if he want to sell home quickly you should use services of the adams realty. but the evidences used by the author is unconvincing.

The author compares the number of the real estate agents both companies are having. adams realty is having 40 real estate agents where as the fitch realty is having 25 real estate agents whom many of them are part time. it is not necessary that the if agents are more from the side of the adams realty it means that agency is more successful in the market. if the fitch is having only 25 and many of them temporary that doesn't means they are not efficient in terms of getting work. if they are part timers then instead it is good as many people will be able to come in the contact of the agents as they are coming the varied sectors they can increase their business opportunities which will e not available to the agents of the admas realty.

Moreover author compares the revenue of the adams and fitch in the argument. it is not necessary that every year the revenue of the admas realty would be high as it is now. it might be the case that revenue for the fitch realty last year was not good because of the competitive market and decisions made by the management . it doesn't ensure that it would be also less in the coming years. it can also be the case that the admas realty have adopted the cost cutting measure and started taking less brokerage in greed of increasing the revenue but that doesn't ensure that customers is happy with the adams realty.

The author is comparing the two firms in very unrealistic way, he compares the speed of selling of two different homes in completely two different period of the time. it is not the way to compare the the efficiency and services of the two firms. A period of ten years is huge taste, choices, of the buyer and many parameters changes with time. As in period of the 10 years anything can change it might be that the period before 10 years there was no demand of the homes in that particular are and that was the starting of the realty firm. other case could be that the fitch realty firm can get you more better prices while selling and buying properties which the adams realty firm might not be giving.

So on the basis of the few unrealistic comparisons and the just mere basis of the number of the employees and firms revenue the firm can not be chosen. As it might be possibility that the friend of author who wants to sell the property in that area some other agency has dominance apart from this both. So it depends mainly on the area and type of the property, condition of the property which decides which real estate firm would be appropriate to sell that respective property. On the basis of the above statements it shows that the argument made by the author on the decision of the real estate firms are baseless and not convincing any way.