The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment building to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads on the first five floors of Sunnyside Towers were modified to restrict the water flow to approximately one-third of its original flow. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, restricting water flow throughout all the twenty floors of Sunnyside Towers will increase our profits further."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The owner of Sunnyside Towers apartment has concluded that restricting waterflow through modifying showerheads in the building will result in an increase in profits for the Corporation. They have speculated that there will be considerable savings from modifying showerheads on the first five floors, and the only evidence they provide is the relatively low number of complaints on water pressure. In order to reach the owner's above conclusion, we need to determine the impact of water restriction on water use throughout the entire building, quantify the impact of potential cost savings on company profits, and take into account possible behavioral changes that may result from the changes.

We need to first determine the impact of water restriction on water use throughout th entire building. One of the biggest questions that need to be answered is whether modifying showerheads and restricting waterflow to one-third of its original flow decrease overall water use. Thus, the water readings of before and after the adjustment need to be made available in the decision-making, with data that covers at least a few months to smooth out any outliers. After obtaining the numbers, we also need to use the current and local price of water to determine if the decrease in water use have enough impact in the cost savings. If the building has a few giant swimmming pools as amenities, their water use will dwarf the prospective decrease in shower water use. In addition, we need to know if residences are uniform across the floors and what water-use facilities are equipped in these households. If most residents use bathtubs for baths, if there are substantial leakages that are not addressed, or if the higher floors have much less resident density, then the potential water savings will be less than expected.

Secondly, we need to evaluate the owner's statement of increased profits. A business's profits are defined as revenue less costs, and in this case, the component in question is the probable decrease in water costs that will drive an increase in profits, with no direct change in revenue. However, there are costs associated with the equipment and manual labor that go into changing the showerheads for each residence. In addition, customer complaints--which are expected to increase if the entire building reduces their water pressure--result in an increase in customer service and staffing costs. If the cost savings in water cannot outweigh these other costs, then profits could even decrease.

Lastly, we need to take into account any behavioral changes that may result from restricting shower head flows. Behavioral economics coined the term "Jevon's Paradox" to describe when people tend to use even more of a product when efficiency is perceived to be higher or the costs to be lower. For example, Americans are shown to drive more when gas prices are low and leave their lights on more when using efficient lightbulbs. In our case, Sunnyside Tower residents may choose to take longer showers if their water pressure is lower due to perceived lower costs or personal preference. In addition, they may also decide to purchase their own high flow showerheads if they are dissatisfied. Resident may even decide to leave the apartment if the building restricts their use of personal showerheads or lack appropriate response to complaints. All of the above behavioral changes will lead in a decrease in profits.

While restricting waterflow in showerheads may seem effective in reducing water costs and thus increasing profits, we need more answers and data to come to the owner's conclusion of definite profit increases. Only by evaluating both quantitative--water readings, cost of water, labor costs--and qualitative--residents' behavioral changes--evidence can we determine if the switch will be profitable to the corporation.