Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

What is the role of educational institutions in guiding and influencing one's pursuit of knowledge and career? The statement claims that these institutions have a definitive responsibility to discourage students from pursuing fields in which they are not likely to succeed in. While a small number of students may be pursuing completely unrealistic passions and need some external rationality, the statement fails to take into account the fallibility of institutions, the diversity of skillsets and knowledge in fields, and the importance of future potential and emotional intelligence.

By giving educational institutions the responsibility to dissuade students, the statement places a great burden upon these institutions. In order to do so, one needs to believe that universities and other institutions are effective in evaluating a student's competence in their field, always have the best interest of their students in mind, and are able to dissuade students with reasonable success. However, reality is often more complex than the above assumptions. While institutions can to some extent extrapolate competence and success through grade point averages, faculty comments, and awards--these indicators often fail to capture the full picture. A student may have failed a class because of poor mental health, relationship troubles, or tragedy in the family. In addition, big educational instutitutions often have obligation towards their board of trustees and other local and national stakeholders and may not always act in the immediate best interest of their students.

We also need to consider the diversity of skills and knowledge that each field of study requires. Even in majors and fields that seem heavily skewed towards a certain type of student--such as mathematics and anthropology--our modern world requires that the former to include excellent communication skills and the latter to operate machinnery or run software. Just because a student may struggle with one skill within their field does not diminish their passion and drive to study their subject nor their potential capability for another skill or topic. Steve Jobs famously took calligraphy and design in college, a seemingly irrelevant class to his interests, and went on to design some of the most innovative and elegant gadgets. With growing interdiscplinary projects and solutions for the world, field boundaries are also being blurred.

Lastly, current competence or incompetence may not directly result in future success or failure as there are many other factors. Angela Duckworth famously coined the single most important characteristic of successful people--"grit"--and argued that grit and perseverance are shared values regardless of the field one's in. Just because a child or student is struggling in a subject--we have heard many stories about accomplished mathematicians, scientists, and musicians that may have succeeded in school--does not directly reflect upon their ability and potential for future success. Rather, other factors such as the quality and style of teaching, the presence of other obstacles and hurdles in their lives, and the structure of the curriculum may contribute.

While universities who adopt the above methodology regarding their students may seem some success in metrics such as higher graduate employment rates and higher first-year earnings, it is not the responsibility for educational institutions to directly steer students away from certain fields they may not be succeeding in at first. An educational institution that truly puts the students first and foremost will recognize that they may not be able to accurately assess success, the multitude of factors that go into succeeding in a field, the diversity of skillsets within fields, and the importance of emotional intelligence and future potential.