The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

One can use many different methods and attitudes when teaching or conferring knowledge, skills, or experience upon others. The statement suggests that the best way to teach others is to compliment positive actions while ignoring negative ones. While this approach may work in some instances, it fails to consider many nuances in which it is not the best way of teaching and thus is not the best way to teach. One needs to consider the individuality of both the teacher and the student, the subject or skill that is being taught, and the motivations behind certain actions to determine and proceed with the best style of teaching.

First, we need to consider who the teacher and the student are, the student’s learning style, and the subject being taught. On one hand, the teacher could be a parent, classroom teacher, or coach. However, they may also be a friend or peer, employee, or even one’s own child. On the other hand, the standing of the student can also differ. Younger children may need more positive reinforcement and compliments for their actions, while older children and adults require much more constructive and realistic feedback on their work—both positive and negative. Differences in age and social relations between the mentor and mentee may result in different teaching methods being employed—a parent or employer may find it more effective to point out and help overcome the shortcomings of a student, while an employee may find it best to simply teach and not give much feedback to their students. The method of teaching also depends on the subject—a coach or music teacher may find it most effective when pointing out the errors made by their students in order to prevent them from making them again, a technician teaching a skill may require no feedback at all, and other teaching relationships such as classroom teaching and parenting may require a combination of positive and negative feedback.

Second, we need to discuss the potential consequences of exclusively praising positive behaviors and ignoring negative ones. Many people have personal anecdotes about the spoiled child that has heard nothing but praise and permission their entire life. While extreme parenting or teaching methods that fixate on condemning negative behavior are frowned upon in many communities now—such as physical or emotional punishment—there is a general consensus that constructive criticism is needed in order to raise children and students who are aware of both themselves and of the society around them. When their negative behaviors are ignored, the student may think that their actions are not important and consequential and could eventually lead to repeating these behaviors—some extreme examples include drug abuse, self-harm, and bullying.

Lastly, we need to consider the grey areas of “positive” and “negative” actions, the motivators behind these actions, and what alternative teaching methods are more effective. Sometimes it is difficult to make definitive judgements on certain actions, especially ones that may stem from trauma, external pressure, stress, physical and chemical imbalances, and more. When actions are not glaringly positive or negative—such as when a child takes food from home without parental permission to give to a hungry classmate—it is difficult to follow the stringent teaching method of praise or ignore. Instead, one should explore the motivations behind these actions and then take proper steps to address both the motives and actions. Studies have found that parents who are good role models to their children (e.g. by not being on their phones incessantly, have a healthy work-life balance, enjoys various healthy hobbies) often have children that have less behavioral issues.

Praising positive and ignoring negative actions can be useful in some cases—dogs have shown to be most responsive to positive reinforcement. By not fixating on finding fault in the student and then berating them for it, the teacher is able to focus on the desirable behaviors and encourage them. However, it is far from the best teaching method to apply to everything from parenting to coaching. We need to consider the uniqueness of each teacher-student relationship and the consequences of ignoring deleterious behavior and glorifying good ones. We also need to understand that we may not always understand the motivations and underlying factors that give rise to certain behaviors. A better method of teaching combines positive reinforcement, constructive criticism, and role-modeling.