The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company has attributed the lower attendance of their movies to the public's lack of awareness to their movies, and suggested an increase in advertising budget for the following year to address the problem. They additionally cited the increased percentage of positive reviews of their movies to support their recommendation. However, there are significant gaps in the director's reasoning, and further information is needed regarding their past and current audience, other internal reasons within the production company, and external factors regarding the general public and movie industry in order to fully evaluate the advertising recommendation.

First, we need more comprehensive and insightful data regarding the production company's audience and reviewers. A decrease in attendance may indicate a lack of public awareness of their movies, but it may also suggest a number of other factors such as a change to more niche movie topics, a lack of popular and big-name actors, a decrease in movie quality, and showing movies in less venues. All of the above can decrease attendance, and we need to keep all other factors constant in order to isolate the effect of advertising. While the percentage of positive reviews have increased despite lowering attendance, we cannot directly conclude that the movies' quality are high. The quality of their movies in the past year may have increased from former years but still remain much lower than competition, indicating a need to increase production quality. If the number of movie critic or other more reputable sources of reviews have decreased despite the increase in positive reviews, the quality of the movies still remain questionable and increasing only the advertising budget will be insufficient.

We also need to consider other internal factors that may cause the lowering attendance. The production company may have experienced a budget cut and thus are producing less movies than previous years and reaching less people. An increase in production budget is then needed in this scenario. The company may also be refocusing their efforts on online streaming media or DVDs, and thus the decreased attendance may be inaccurate if other viewership has increased. In addition, there may be instability within the leadership, high employee turnover, reorganization of teams that result in the decreased number or quality of production. While the advertising team may be included in the above internal problems, we need to investigate other internal contributions to the low attendance.

Lastly, we should look to external factors to evaluate if the problem can be fully attributed to the production company itself. If the economy as a whole underwent a downturn and/or consumer spending has decreased in the past year, movie-goers will inevitably spend their money on entertainment, depressing the movie industry as a whole. Other external factors include the rise of competitors in the industry, the replacement of traditional movie theater experiences with online digital media or other entertainment. Both the above will result in a decrease in movie attendance that does not result from lack of public awareness.

Overall, the advertising director should review and evaluate their department's influence and role in the decreased attendance in the past year, as many reasons could have been responsible for the downturn. However, we need to conduct more audience, organizational, and market research to reach a more definitive conclusion. While better and more widespread advertising may boost attendance in next year, the problem of low attendance cannot be fully resolved unless other internal inefficiencies are addressed, or external influences are recognized and adapted to accordingly.