The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim.

People often criticize the hyper-competitive culture pervasive in our society today. From single-digit university admission rates to the handful of ventures out of dozens able to secure startup funding--we are competing for resources, attention, money, and more. Our focus on becoming the best in any field often obscure many other factors we need to consider when we are leaders of different fields. A certain dose of competition may be necessary and motivating to some; however, in order to prepare young people for leadership roles, we need to additionally instill in them a sense of cooperation critical for long-term prosperity in many fields.

No person grows up and lives in a vacuum, and society can play many different roles in teaching and educating young people. Schools and other educational institutions import theoretical and practical knowledge; governments and community organizations influence public policy and welfare; and parents and/or other relatives help provide financial, personal, and well-rounded upbringing. To assume that each component of society can and should impart the same lessons on someone is naive. In order to sustain a well-functioning society, governments may introduce programs that are more cooperative in nature while schools may emphasize both cooperation and competition in order to find the best talent.

In addition to the heterogeneous influences from society on an individual, each field that a young person aspires to lead in can have different requirements of leadership too. An individual who wants to become a pioneer in a technological field may require to have more competitive traits than one who wants to motivate a community for a social justice movement. Different issues may also require different solutions--a policy advisor overseeing a land dispute need cooperative skills much more than a founder of a startup looking to break into an unfamiliar industry.

It can be argued that competition is essential in many of the breakthroughs that our past and present leaders have made. Healthy competition often brings out the best in some, and people often find satisfaction and motivation in beating their peers. However, an extreme focus on adversarial relationships between actors is often not conducive to reaching mutually beneficial or sustainable solutions. In addition, competition is often stereotyped as a traditionally masculine and male-desired trait, exacerbating gender and opportunity inequality. Many of the great leaders that we have seen in different fields, such as Martin Luther King Jr. and Marie Curie, have credited their success to the extensive collaboration and persistence of people within their respective movements of racial equality and scientific breakthrough.

Depending on the individual and the field of leadership they intend to pursue, the balance of competition and cooperation may slightly differ. However, it is certain that both traits are essential in order to allow their leadership to have a sustaining and great impact. As a society, we need to also value and encourage collaboration as we have with competition, and to teach young people that both are required to becoming effective leaders.