The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager."One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one

The author in an argument predicts that in order to increase profit even more dramatically, we should restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex. The author’s main conclusion based in an assumption that when first three buildings of the complex were modified to restrict maximum flow to bout one -third for one month, no complaints with showers have been registered, while complaints only about low water pressure. Moreover, the author assumes that the adjustment will obviously ensue in a considerable saving for SunnySide Corporation. The argument consist of many unanswered question, and hence leads to dubious level. Also, there is lack of evidences to draw a valuable conclusion of an argument. The argument has several serious flaws in it.

Firstly, the author’s prediction is baseless and lack of cogent evidences. The author predicts that the adjustment will clearly result in a considerable saving for Sunnyside Corporation, because of the corporation pays for water each month. Prediction seems something baseless because there is unavailability of actual reading data before and after one month. It may be a case that instead of reducing water flow to one-third. is increased due to certain external factors which are excluded by the author while prediction and hence, may be a possibility that conclusion does not sounding trustworthy. Also, the author uses correlation proves causality without considering essential factors.

Secondly, the author says that no complaints have been registered regarding showers and only complaints about low water pressure. The author fails to consider possibility that the people in complex may lax and hence they showed hesitancy toward filing complaints about shower in the complex and others which have problem regarding low pressure filed their complaints as they were responsible persons in a society. If there is clearity regarding nature of people in the Sunnyside Corporation, it may easy to predict relevant conclusion of an argument.

Final but not least, the author uses fallacy “ Because of this, therefore, after this” and also wrongly assumes that one thing applicable on one building will necessary effective to other building. We know that as a building varies, it nature of people living in it their population, reponsibilities also varies. Therefore, it is baseless to predict that all twelve buildings should accept such tact as their water usage may varies according too building.

In conclusion, an argument consists of many unanswered questions and hence, it seems to dubious. Moreover, the author assumes that one strategy effective to one building necessarily effective to other one without considering population, characteristics and amenities of different buildings. In addition, the author fails to consider nature of the people in the complex that how responsible persons are they toward filing complaint regarding water problems. The author can make his position in an argument compelling and well sounding by rendering details about nature of people, their population in all buildings, similarity between buildings, providing actual readings of water supply before and after adjustment, etc.