The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex predicts that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow by one-third will increase their profits by reducing the pay for water for each month. Initially, the argument seems plausible; but, at close scrutiny the argument lacks evidences in support of restricting water flow in shower heads will increase profits.

Initially, the adjustment of showerheads to restrict the flow of water has been done in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside towers complex. The argument fails to provide any relevant data regarding the uses of water before and after the adjustment of the showerheads. It is ludicrous to assume that the water requirement during showering will be less than before adjustment. It might be possible that the time taken during showering is more than before adjustment and draining the same quantity of water before and after the adjustment resulting in no any decrease in payment. It is given in the argument that the restriction has been done in the first three buildings, but it is not mentioned in the passage regarding the number of people residing inside these building. It might be possible that the number of people living in others building is high in number in comparison to the people living in the first three buildings. It will be hasty to assume that the water usage will be less by restricting the water flow without considering all these assumptions.

Secondly, the argument states a few complaints regarding the low water pressure in the building where restriction in water supply has been made. The argument fails to provide any relevant data regarding the number of complaints. It fails to state the metaphorical meaning of few in how many people residing inside the buildings. It might be possible that the actual number of people residing inside the first three building is quite low likewise the number of complains are 10 out of 50 people which is nearly 20 percent to consider the problems. Similarly, it might be possible the people fails to identify the problems regarding the lower discharge in showerheads and register complains signifying improper water pressure. Thus, all these assumptions need to clarify before coming to any particular idea of implementing water restriction in showerheads to reduce the charge of water each month.

Thirdly, it will be hasty to assume that the modifying showerheads to restrict water in all the twelve buildings increase profit even more drastically. Generally, the velocity of water flows in all the buildings is different depending upon the gravitational head. The argument fails to provide the status of various floors of building regarding the water flow. The water will flow at higher velocity in ground floor whereas the velocity decreases rapidly with the increase in height of the building. Although, the restriction of water supply in ground floor has lesser consequences in comparison to the restriction of water supply in other floors of the building. Thus, the restriction of water supply in showerheads in various storied building will irritate people and perhaps they make any intention to leave the apartment which decrease the overall profit of the complex.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is full of flaws and it should be supplied with the evidences in order to explain it in the form of systematic order to support the given argument regarding the increase in profits by restricting the flows of water through showerheads.