The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits further."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The efforts taken by Sunnyside Corporation to reduce water use and effectively impove profits at a glance seem to work, but under the surface this plan has many flaws and assumptions. Some of the being- Firsty, no clear data about water usage is still available, It has been assumed that reducing the flow rate of water through shower heads will reduce the actual water used for an water based activity. Secondly, no clear way of billing has been elaborated. Thirdy it has been assumed that the initial condition can be extrapolated without differences to the rest of the buildings without clear idea of equipments used in the bathrooms. Now to further elaborate these flaws.

Without data about the first one third of the buildings, where the shower heads have been modified it cannot be said that net water usage has actually decreased. The people who showered earlier for five minutes with orignal showerhead now may need three times the time for the same. Keeping the net usage the same, or the low pressure and less flow may not satisfy them and can have an inverse effect leading to further expenditure of water. Without clear data usage recored in the first third of buildings, the idea cannot be extrapolated to give efficient and economical results.

No clear indication about the payement of water has been made by the manager to the residents. It may be that water supply cost is fixed for any amount used as measuring it is not an easy task. Thus, no economic advantage is received even by reducing use, clear understading on the matter is required to take effective steps to curb reduction in cost and usage. If, payement for water bill is based on litres/gallons used then meters should be installed for measuring and the payment should be done on individual basis, which will also make residents more dilligent in usage and the economical aspect for the corporation can be managed simentaneously and efficiently.

It has been assumed that all the residents in the housing complex use shower for bathing activity as little have complant over the low shower pressure, this may not be true. Residents may use tubs, buckets and mugs for this acitivity. The rest of the building where this hasn't been done, in those poeple may not use showers and only use tubs for bathing. In which case changing the shower heads will have little to no effect on the total amount earned by the corporation or the water used by the residents. First a clear idea about what is the cause of more use should be determined and then a suitable solution should be fabricated.

These following points show how the assumptions by manageer and the corporation can be flawed and have no real effect on the situation and have no monetary benefits. First a proper understanding of the usage pattern and equipment of use is required then only effective ways can be deducted for the required purpose.