When Stanley Park first opened, it was the largest, most heavily used public park in town. It is still the largest park, but it is no longer heavily used. Video cameras mounted in the park's parking lots last month revealed the park's drop in popularity: the recordings showed an average of only 50 cars per day. In contrast, tiny Carlton Park in the heart of the business district is visited by more than 150 people on a typical weekday. An obvious difference is that Carlton Park, unlike Stanley Park, provides ample seating. Thus, if Stanley Park is ever to be as popular with our citizens as Carlton Park, the town will obviously need to provide more benches, thereby converting some of the unused open areas into spaces suitable for socializing.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the prompt, it is argued that for Stanley park to be as famous as Carlton Park, it needs to have more seating accommodation for the visitors, It is said that it can be done by changing the unsed spaces to places where poeple can socialize and adding new benches to the park. These assumptions are drawn on the experiences and observations of Carlton Park, and the less number of people has been attributed to lesser number of cars recorded by the parking lot cameras. However, if these assumptions prove unwarranted the arguement will cripple and fall flat on it's face.

Stanley Park is compared to Carlton park which is located in the heart of the city, It has been assumed that both the parks are roughy comparable. It may be that Stanley park is located in a scarcely populated area on the outskirts compared to Carlton Park located in the business district of the town. People may not like to travel to outskirts of the town to visit a park and rather enjoy their lunch break in a park during work. It is stated that Stanley park is larger in area compared to Carlton park, so even having equal number of people in both the parks, Carlton park will look crowded compared to Stanley Park. These assumptions, If proved correct weaken the prompt.

The less number of people in people in Stanley Park has been attributed to lack of benches in the it, compared to Carlton park. People may come to Stanley Park to walk their dogs and play outdoor sports like frisbee and baseball and not sit and socialize, adding benches does not guarantee that more people will come to the park, if instead new activities and sports equipments are added to the park it may attract younger crowd and budding sportsmen. It maybe that people visit Carlton Park on weekdays only to have a leisure time during their breaks and have a nice outdooe breeze. Adding new benches to Stanley park doesn't ensure more people coming as it is not located in the same place. If one can provide evidence of these assumptions the above prompt will be highly weakened.

The method of recording number of people is not fixed in both the parks, It's stated that 150 people visit Carlton park everyday and 50 cars on average are shown in the parking lot of Stanley Park. It is assumed that a single person is in each vehicle and no one comes to the park on foot or by bikes. This strongly weakens the fact the more people don't come to Stanley Park compared to Carlton Park on weekdays.

Hence, if the following unstated assumptions prove false the prompt will be greatly weakened. If these assumptions prove unwarranted there is no need of adding more benches to Stanley Park as no fixed method of counting visiting people has been implemented and a accuarte count of people using benches has been shown. There is no evidence given that everyone who visits the park sits on benches and doesn't do any other activity.